Love-Leigh Thoughts and Ideas

I have never minded doing laundry. It has always been one of those things that I kind of enjoy doing ( I don’t know why ).  I would often do Ryan’s laundry when I went to visit him at his Mom’s house – just to help out . The only thing I don’t care for with laundry is putting it away. I would wash and fold all day long as long as someone else put it away. 

So now that I have you thinking about laundry ……. It brings me to this point : Do you know what is in your laundry detergent? Go right now and pick up your bottle of detergent . What are all of those big words? what chemicals are in there? And why on earth are you paying that much for it?  This is the point I got to about 2 weeks ago. It’s no secret that we are trying to cut back on expenses . I listed some of the top products we shell out serious money for and laundry detergent was number 1 !  In an effort to better to our wallet, bodies , and the environment I started to look into homemade options. 

This is a tried and true recipe we are currently using and I LOVE IT ! 

2-cups finely grated soap anything Like Ivory, Dr. Bonner . Just stay away from heavily perfumed soap.

1- cup washing soda

1-cup Borax

Mix well and store in an air tight container. Put 2 tablespoons full in with your laundry. Easy peasy ! 

It only took about 30 minutes to make this  and it should last awhile. And how much did it cost you may ask? Here is a breakdown of how much it cost: Borax $2.79 , Washing soda:$2.99 , soap $1.99   total cost : $7.77  the nice thing is the next time I want to make more the only thing I will have to buy is a bar of soap. The rest of the ingredients should last me at least 2 more times of making detergent !

1 Response to "laundry"

How about making me some???

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Camille: I have Adele 21 although I have yet to listen to it. Beatles Revolver Rocks - hard! The weekend was rough. It snowed and snowed but we did watch the
  • Andrea: I love ALDI. I am always very happy with their prices. :)
  • Camille Dumas Davis: I have every album you listed. 'All we are saying is give peace a chance.' - John Lennon "Hi' Apollo" Love and Cheers, Camille

Categories

