Love-Leigh Thoughts and Ideas

31 days of Halloween day 8 ~another craft!~

Posted on: October 8, 2010

Last night my Mom and I  went to a flower class at our local library. It cost  $5  but I think it was really worth it!

If you would like to do this craft it is very easy and pretty cost-effective ! Here is what you will need :

1-sharp Knife – or pumpkin carving tool. – Be safe with this ! Last night they had really cheap ones and the blade snapped right off of mine …….

1- small pumpkin about the size of a pie pumpkin.

assorted real flowers – as many of as little as you would like .

Floral foam – it can be a big  chunk of foam remember you can always cut it down!  Soak it in water so it is nice and wet BEFORE you put it in the pumpkin.

step 1: Decide where you want the hole to be . The most popular choice it to cut off the top.  I cut a hole in mine right below the stem . So it’s on the side of the pumpkin. It had a really nice stem and I thought it might be nice to keep it !

step2 : scoop out the insides – if you want to . I tried but the hole was too small and I cold not get all the insides out ! You do not have to scoop  it out at all .

step 3: Insert floral foam into the hole you cut.

step 4: Place your flowers into the floral foam and go to town!  Dont ‘feel bad if you  don’t like how it is turning out. I ripped mine apart twice last night and started over .

step 5: Enjoy your new Fall floral pumpkin .

 Here are a few photos of mine from last night. Before the season is over I am sure I will be making one or two more of these !

2 Responses to "31 days of Halloween day 8 ~another craft!~"

Very cute. I like that the opening is off to the side.

Kristi-Your floral arrangement in your pumpkin is Great!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Camille: I have Adele 21 although I have yet to listen to it. Beatles Revolver Rocks - hard! The weekend was rough. It snowed and snowed but we did watch the
  • Andrea: I love ALDI. I am always very happy with their prices. :)
  • Camille Dumas Davis: I have every album you listed. 'All we are saying is give peace a chance.' - John Lennon "Hi' Apollo" Love and Cheers, Camille

Categories

